mijn-design

a developer\’s life

iPod Touch – Cydia Packager – Updates with too many errors

Posted by Michael on April 11, 2008

After nothing really worked as already stated in previous posts, today early in the morning, Cydia reproted one error and afterwards 42 available updates. How long will it take to have all updates installed ? 10-15 min for the first / second … then a POSIX error, and another, and another … !

I don’t know why there is no better check implemented if a package is available or not. Instead it starts downloading and what ? Waiting for a timeout ?

It finished updating NetDB und stops with package error: “NetDB: No address associated with hostname”. And this error stays, had to cklick about 30 times till it was gone. Now I have 39 waiting updates ? I tried an “update all”, forget it ! Do it one by one, thus being able to identify those updates which cause trouble.

Status: After 2 hrs work I got 15 updates installed, still get lots of errors. Every now and then I have to switch off and on again. Another hour later all left updates either are broken or can’t be downloaded or what ever, NetDB throwing one error after error …

Edit: Second day, 10 hrs of updates: Still 11 left … after  a failed update I have to toggle Wifi off an on
otherwise it doesn’t find any server.
15 hrs: 5 more done, 6 left … I give up for now

Edit: 2 days later finally all updated.

3 Responses to “iPod Touch – Cydia Packager – Updates with too many errors”

  1. Jenn said

    I am having the same problems but have been unable to install any updates? Also it makes my phone vibrate go back to the main page and then the volumn adjust to the lowest?

  2. Michael said

    Why your iPhone vibrates etc I don’t know as I just have an iPod Touch.

    I had to try again and again to get all updates installed. And after nearly every failure I rebooted my iPod.
    You need patience to get through with a big update set, but afterwards everything should be ok and work well again

  3. Lots of of bloggers not too happy with this new iPad.There was 2 much hoopla over it and lots of blogers got turned off.Thing is, I actually see lots of the awesome potential uses of the gizmo. Third-party soft for doing music, games, papers and magazine and FFS books, all sorts of neat stuff, but IMHO they just didn’t really sell it right (excluding the books). It looks sort of unfinished

Leave a Reply

 
