mijn-design

a developer\’s life

VMware Fusion “The network bridge device on /dev/vmnet0 is not running”

Posted by Michael on January 27, 2008

Suddenly ran into this problem, no vm worked anymore. Searching the internet gave me hints but no solution.

The clue was in the System profiler. I had switched from a server based to a local pppoe connection. This pppoe connection showed in system profiler as another ethernet en0 BSD device name. After deleting and re-creating the pppoe connection on the second internal ethernet en1 everything was ok again !

Nothing perfect yet …
Switching to local pppoe I have to remove the router entry from the network device, but then vm’s don’t work anymore.
But with an router entry internet doesn’t work correct.

I use now wo different network configurations in Leopard: one server based with a router entry and another one with a local pppoe connection.

Edit /23.02.2008: Another failure, this entry helped
Edit /20.04.2008: Every now and then I still get this error. Either this command

    sudo /Library/Application Support/VMWare Fusion/boot.sh –restart
or rebooting helps.

52 Responses to “VMware Fusion “The network bridge device on /dev/vmnet0 is not running””

  1. macca said

    Since upgrading to 1.1.1 last week, I haven’t had this problem again.
    However, time sync between the host machine and Windows VM is now broken and the clock has to be reset manually or by net time.

  2. Mikkel said

    Actually it should be:

    sudo /Library/Application\ Support/VMware\ Fusion/boot.sh --restart

  3. Joseph said

    I ran into this today and filed a bug. I don’t know what causes it, and I’m not in Fusion engineering so I can’t answer any questions or provide status. Just thought I’d let you know.

  4. […] to another WordPresser here for the […]

  5. OrtoMar said

    Have got this error and could resolve it with mentioned command.

    A TCP/IP conflict between a second Mac, not the one on which VMWare Fusion is installed and Windows 2000 VMWare Fusion client were the cause of this error. Both were configured as DHCP with variable TCP/IP.

  6. GeroZ said

    Short ACK: Yes, this works. Thanks a lot – I usually rebooted the entire Mac to get it working.

  7. notechyet said

    Exactly the same error started after I installed Clamxav and I have been able to solve it with the above suggestion:sudo /Library/Application\ Support/VMware\ Fusion/boot.sh –restart
    Thanks

  8. David said

    Thanks a ton. I suddenly started getting this error this morning and was kinda starting to get worried. This fixed it right up. Thankfully I was able to access the web on the Mac side.

  9. Aaron said

    sudo /Library/Application\ Support/VMware\ Fusion/boot.sh –restart

    I put that in the terminal and my problems were solved. Thanks for the solution!

  10. Aboo said

    Solved mine too.

  11. Milton Lopez said

    I just started having the same problem with Fusion 2.0 after running fine for a while. I tried the boot.sh script mentioned here, but I get these two errors:

    -bash: boot: command not found

    boot.sh: Line 753: boot.sh: command not found

    Any suggestions?

  12. Chi said

    Works!

    sudo /Library/Application\ Support/VMware\ Fusion/boot.sh –restart

    Make sure there’s a — before restart

  13. Works! said

    This works:

    sudo /Library/Application\ Support/VMware\ Fusion/boot.sh –restart

    /Sune

  14. jptxs said

    this was helpful. thanks. I found it was enough to just run the command from within the script:

    sudo /Library/Application\ Support/VMware\ Fusion/vmnet-bridge -d /var/run/vmnet-bridge-vmnet0.pid vmnet0 ”

  15. Lespol said

    WORK!, Tnxs

  16. Rob said

    Yeah, been using this command with 1.0, 1.1 and now 2.0…

    Anyone know why I need to issue it a couple times a week? It’s a minor issue now – because I’m used to it, but it’s a huge bug.

  17. Tom said

    Just had the same issue with 2.0 and the sudo command helped a lot! I just couldn’t run it like that from the terminal, I had to user@machine:~> sudo su and then sh-3.2# /Library/Application\ Support/VMware\ Fusion/boot.sh –restart
    Thanks for the tip, it helped a lot!

  18. […] A quick online search revealed me multiple solutions but the most of them were targeting VMware 1.0. The error above in WMvare 2.0 or greater can be easily fixed typing the following command in the Terminal (thanks Aaron). […]

  19. GeroZ said

    I haven’t seen this in a long time, and I’m using VMware Fusion 2 (currently: 2.0.4) productively each and every day. I though that was history since the upgrade from Fusion 1 to 2.

    So I was quite baffled seeing it today occur again. However: “[…] boot.sh –-restart” worked for me – thanks again!

  20. Woo said

    Thanks the sudo worked great for me. I am curious how you figured out that this would work?

  21. Kevin said

    Because it’s what vmware runs when it starts. See here: /Library/LaunchDaemons/com.vmware.launchd.vmware.plist (the launchd script). Good find though!

  22. Phil said

    I never had this issue until a couple weeks ago, now I have had to run the script twice to get the network back up. I have a Canon network printer that forces me to run the VM in bridged mode vs. NAT now. This is becoming a real PIA.

  23. Jan said

    Have been running Fusion w/out this issue since January, just ran into it today. Did install latest various Apple upgrades from June 5 might be related not sure. Run an iMac 24″ early 2008 4Gb ram. Run this command foudn on this thread fixed issue:
    ” sudo /Library/Application\ Support/VMware\ Fusion/boot.sh –restart “

  24. Fred said

    This worked for me today running VMWare Fusion 2.0.4

    For those who are in need of step by step on a typical Mac:
    1) Go to APPLICATIONS folder
    2) Select UTILITIES
    3) Select TERMINAL.app

    ALTERNATE: Type terminal into FINDER or SPOTLIGHT

    Copy and paste the following into terminal:

    sudo /Library/Application\ Support/VMware\ Fusion/boot.sh –restart

    (Make sure there are two hyphens before “restart” if your system made it into one dash;
    in other words, the end is /boot.sh followed by a space then two hyphens followed WITHOUT a space by the word restart).

    Press RETURN
    You may get a warning about using SUDO.
    You will have to enter your passwork and press RETURN

    Go back to VM Fusion Ware

    Under VIRTUAL MACHINE
    Go to NETWORK ADAPTER
    Click on CONNECT NETWORK ADAPTER if necessary

    Finished!

  25. Russ said

    Thanks – this annoying error was fixed with the help of the “Step by Step”! I appreciate your comments and have forwarded this to my Mac/Fusion user friends.

  26. Ron said

    I wasn’t successful with the Step by Step approach. I have Fusion 1.1.3 on a MBPro running 10.5.7 When I open Terminal this is displayed

    Last login: Sat Feb 28 07:37:49 on console
    ron-friedmans-macbook-pro:~ ronfriedman$

    I enter sudo/Library/Application\Support/VMware\Fusion/boot.sh –restart When I press return, I get this reply

    -bash: sudo/Library/ApplicationSupport/VMwareFusion/boot.sh: No such file or directory
    ron-friedmans-macbook-pro:~ ronfriedman$

    What am I doing incorrectly?

    • Michael said

      Hello,
      did you really enter the caommand like this ? I just tested the command and it’s fine.
      check the spaces:

      sudo{SPACE}/Library/Application\{SPACE}Support/VMware\{SPACE}Fusion/boot.sh –restart

      Regards
      Michael

  27. Ron said

    Michael,

    I re-entered to command and got further this time as I received this reply after hitting return…

    WARNING: Improper use of the sudo command could lead to data loss
    or the deletion of important system files. Please double-check your
    typing when using sudo. Type “man sudo” for more information.

    To proceed, enter your password, or type Ctrl-C to abort.

    Password:

    … When I tried entering my password, nothing happened. The cursor didn’t move; nor did asterisks appear. Then I wondered if I was actually entering the password but it was hidden (for security?) so I tried twice more and received a “3 failed attempts” reply and the original command line information appeared again… see below

    Last login: Sat Feb 28 07:37:49 on console
    ron-friedmans-macbook-pro:~ ronfriedman$

    Thank you and I apologize for taking so much of your time, but do you have another idea about how I sould proceed?

    Regards,
    Ron

  28. Ryan Corrigal said

    I noticed that when I was connected to a VPN, the adapter didn’t work. As soon as I disconnected from the VPN, it worked.

    Interesting.

    • Scott Burton said

      Thanks Ryan, I was trying to figure out why I couldn’t fix the bridged network. I can confirm that it doesn’t work while connected to a VPN.

  29. Smated said

    What the heck this isn’t working for me… dang it…

  30. ammoun said

    Guys,
    There is something wrong with the VMware/Win 7 and VMware/Vista (all versions of both software) combo when it comes to networking and the network adapter selection NAT and Bridged.
    With the IP setting in my adapter set at automatic as it should be usually, NAT works and I can see the internet but no local network, Bridged sees nothing at all.
    However, in Bridged configuration if I set my own IP address, Gateway IP and DNS IP, the “Bridged” network adapter works fine and I can see my network printer (local network) …etc and the internet. This is not true in NAT, it must be left as automatic IP selection and it will not see the local network!!
    This is weird and most definitely has to do with the VMware/Win 7 (Vista) combo failing to obtain and IP address (register on the network) properly.
    I hope this will help someone temporarily.
    What is even more weird is VMware not resolving this issue for two whole years now! Look up this problem and you will see people complaining for two or more years and still are!!! I have VMware 3 and Win 7 and am facing this on a completely fresh Win 7 installation! On my VMware Fusion 2 and Win XP there was no such problems! maybe I ought to go back!! 😦

    Any other suggestions from anyone, besides restarting the service using Sudo and Terminal which did not work at all?? I do not wish to keep my IP set as I move from one WiFi network to another at different venues.
    Bless you all and thank you for all your efforts.

  31. ammoun said

    I just tried a fresh Win 7 installation with Parallels Desktop 5 and it is exactly the same problem as with VMware Fusion 3 with Win 7. So…. it seems that the problem is Win 7 (and Vista before it)! This is as far as my knowledge goes! Anyone with an answer?
    Bless you all.

  32. GeroZ said

    Errm … I don’t have a Win 7 VM installation handy right now. But if I get the problem right you’re describing, the problem is not in VMware Fusion nor Parallels Desktop but actually in Windows.

    Windows needs a slight kick into his butt to be able to “see” other computers, especially not the Mac shares. You need to update the LmCompatibilityLevel. Simply save the following text block as a .reg file, import it into your registry … and try again.

    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Lsa]
    LMCompatibility “LmCompatibilityLevel”=dword:00000001

  33. ammoun said

    Thank you GeroZ, I tried the registry entry but it does not work. I understood you want us to create a key “LMCompatibility” under the Lsa registry entry with a dword value(x32) named “LMCompatibilityLevel” and equal to 1 (decimal 1)? I did this, logged off and on and nothing changed, still the same miserable connection errors. I agree with you in that it seems to be a Windows issue.
    Bless you.

  34. ammoun said

    GeroZ, my bad! I made the wrong registry entry! I will try what you suggest and restart the VM.

  35. ammoun said

    GeroZ, i tried it and still NO GO!!! 😦
    I tried the “LM and NTLM – use NTLMV2 session security if
    negotiated” in the link you mentioned up there but the setting was already what they recommend!
    Any other ideas?
    Thank u.

  36. ammoun said

    Guys,
    I just changed my router to Belkin (from LiveBox that came with my ISP provider subscription) and my NAT and BRIDGED networks both worked well!! It seems that neither VMwrae Fusion v3 nor Windows 7 are at fault, it was my router!! So please try to change your routers or fiddle with the settings!
    Bless you all.

  37. ammoun said

    I am sorry, I rushed my comment! I restarted and found out my NAT network does not “see” my printer or other computers on my local network! We are back to square one with no help from VMware or Microsoft!

  38. ammoun said

    My final comment and the resolution of my problem; as explained to me by the VMware support (very good people indeed); NAT networks use virtual IP addresses assigned by the virtual machine’s DHCP not by the router and hence the virtual machine is not given an IP in the physical local network which explains why NAT networks do not “see” network printers and other computers on the physical network (router and devices connected to it), it only connects to the internet through the NAT (and router) and connects to the MAC of course.
    Bridged networks, however, obtain an address from the DHCP of the router and are, therefore, part of the physical network and hence can “see” the local network devices and other computers connected to the router and are on the network along with the MAC of course.
    The above has been the case since I changed my router and so I am now OK. Support tells me that some routers act weird and for some reason refuse to assign IPs to some computers on the network and this is documented with several models out there. So, if your computer is not able to get an IP from the router or the router is failing to act as a DNS for your network in Bridged network configuration, then try another router before anything else.
    I hope this is useful to someone.
    Good luck to all and God bless.

  39. Peter said

    I am getting the same message “The network bridge on device /dev/ vmet0 is not running”. The solution above sounds like Greek to me. Is there an easy fix. I had it up and running no problem until I restarted my Mac.

    Thanks a usere

  40. pieter said

    I have the same message every time I start VMware and running that command in terminal didn’t work.
    But recently I descovered that simply removing the network cable for a few seconds does! After reconnecting it (2nd network port) while your alternative OS is running in VMware, click “connect network adaptor” and it should work (it does here…)

  41. Kwok said

    $ sudo /Library/Application\ Support/VMware\ Fusion/boot.sh –restart

    This work for me as well. You have to type in the full path or it would give you this error:

    boot.sh: line 753: boot.sh: command not found

    I running OS X 10.6 and VMware Fusion v2
    Thanks for the solution.

  42. I found several threads on this issue, NAT works, bridge mode gave me this error..

    I attempted the sudo commands, but got errors that file/folder was not there, etc…

    I did further research, found an interesting tidbit about looking at the Macintosh’s system profiler (that person had a firewire network connection?!?), and so I examined the system preferences network settings, noted that my client had a bluetooth network service (that wasn’t really needed), I deleted it, rebooted the Macintosh, launced the VM, verified it had bridge mode selected, verified the guest OS (Win XP) now had a valid network link, no more errors, and it correctly got a fresh DHCP address directly from the network/router, and got a correct IP, as it should, in bridge mode.

    I’m not sure, but apparently some issue with the Macintosh service item, however, ethernet and airport both remain, and it works fine.

    Cheers,

    Daniel Feldman
    MacMind

  43. Dweezil said

    I’ve ran into this issue with my macbook pro running OSX 10.6.8 and VMware Fusion 3.1.3. When I have a VPN up on OSX, the network devices fail. No vpn, everything is happy.

    Running boot.sh –restart did nothing for me while my VPN was up.

    FYI.

  44. port said

    DNS…

    […]VMware Fusion “The network bridge device on /dev/vmnet0 is not running” « mijn-design[…]…

  45. “VMware Fusion The network bridge device on /dev/vmnet0 is not running mijn-design” was a delightful posting, can’t help but wait to
    examine alot more of your blogs. Time to waste some time on the internet lol.
    Thanks ,Nell

Leave a Reply

 
