mijn-design

a developer\’s life

LISP libraries on Gentoo Linux

Posted by Michael on June 22, 2006

It took me a while but I'm learning. On my server I run CMUCL and work on understanding Common Lisp Hypermedia Server (CL-HTTP), on my workstation I use SBCL playing around with a few libraries to learn more about their handling.
So far I understood

  1. that in /usr/share/common-lisp/source all sources go
  2. while in /usr/share/common-lisp/systems the ASD File coming along with most libs is symlinked
    Thes ASD files tell how files are compiled and loaded (ASDF-System)
  3. As SBCL includes asdf (Another System Definition Facility) handling of libraries is quite easy

About 4 weeks ago I started with LISP and slowly but surely I can read sources and even understand what's done – when it's not too complex.

Edit: Getting errors on compilation of libs I thought "ok, my mistake". But re-compiling everything suddenly CLX/MCCLIM threw other errors. So I fetched current sources from CVS, but same result. Before giving up a last try from plain SBCL. Now everything worked. This drives me nuts, as I can't find the reasons for such different behaviour.

Leave a Reply

 
